Cauliflower Dal with Panch Phoran

22 05 2011

I discovered cooking in the past year when I was feeling a little insecure with myself and the relationship I was in. I wanted to find something simple that I could be good at, that I could do for other people, and that would make my boyfriend like me more (note: did not actually work on that last note). It has completely changed ¬†how I view myself and my relationship with food. I think of myself as a cook…someone who creates wonderful concoctions from ingredients. It has become such a big part of who I am now.

Yesterday I made another recipe from fatfreevegan‘s blog. I tweaked it a little bit, using extra virgin olive oil instead of canola (to see why I did not use canola oil click here) and I didn’t have any kalonji so I just left it out…it probably would have been better with it, but it was still amazing without.

Also, as a sidenote, I would like to say that though I use a lot of fatfreevegan’s recipes I do NOT support a fat free or low fat diet by any means. She has great vegan recipes.

I like to lay out all of my ingredients to start with:

Cauliflower is from California…annoying and actually kind of awful. But the tomatoes are ones that Caroline canned last summer! And the onions are dumpster dived!

Trusty onions and garlic

and voila! with red lentils it was a beautiful and nutritious meal

Carolina was so happy to have food after a long day of work. This is the best thing about cooking…happy eaters.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

